+91-80-8800-2244 / +91-80-4954-2733 / +91- 77-9501-0900

Indian Institutes of Technology

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are autonomous public institutes of higher education, located in India. They are governed by the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 which has declared them as institutions of national importance alongside National Institutes of Technology and lays down their powers, duties, and framework for governance etc. The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 lists twenty-three institutes located at Bhilai, Chennai, Delhi, Dhanbad, Dharwad, Goa, Guwahati, Jammu, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Mumbai, Roorkee, Bhubaneswar, Gandhinagar, Hyderabad, Indore, Jodhpur, Mandi, Palghat, Patna, Ropar, Tirupati and Varanasi. Each IIT is an autonomous institution, linked to the others through a common IIT Council, which oversees their administration. The Union HRD Minister is the ex-officio Chairperson of IIT Council.[6] As of 2017, the total number of seats in all IITs is 11,032.

The IITs had a common admission process for undergraduate admissions, called IIT-JEE, which was replaced by Joint Entrance Examination Advanced in 2013. The post-graduate level program that awards M.Tech., MS degrees in engineering is administered by the older IITs (Kharagpur, Bombay, Madras, Kanpur, Delhi, Dhanbad, Roorkee, Varanasi, Guwahati). M.Tech and MS admissions are done on the basis of Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE). In addition to B.Tech, M.Tech and MS programs, IITs also award other graduate degrees such as M.Sc in Maths, Physics and Chemistry, MBA, PhD etc. Admission to these programs of IITs is done through Common Admission Test (CAT), Joint Admission Test for Masters (JAM) and Common Entrance Examination for Design (CEED). IIT Guwahati and IIT Bombay offer undergraduate design programmes as well. Joint Seat Allocation Authority 2015 (JoSAA 2015) conducted the joint admission process for a total of 19 IITs.

IITs and locations, sorted by date of establishment

Serial no Name Short Name Founded Established Campus Size (acres) Director State/UT
1 IIT Kharagpur IITKGP 1951 1951 2100 Partha Pratim Chakraborty West Bengal
2 IIT Bombay IITB 1958 1958 550 Devang V. Khakar Maharashtra
3 IIT Kanpur IITK 1959 1959 1055 Indranil Manna Uttar Pradesh
4 IIT Madras IITM 1959 1959 620 Bhaskar Ramamurthi Tamil Nadu
5 IIT Delhi IITD 1961 1963 350 V Ramgopal Rao Delhi
6 IIT Guwahati IITG 1994 1994 704 Gautam Biswas Assam
7 IIT Roorkee IITR 1847 2001 365 Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi Uttarakhand
8 IIT Bhubaneswar IITBBS 2008 1994 704 Gautam Biswas Assam
9 IIT Gandhinagar IITGN 2009 2009 450 Sudhir K. Jain Gujarat
10 IIT Hyderabad IITH 2008 2008 576 U. B. Desai Telangana
11 IIT Jodhpur IITJ 2008 2008 852 C.V.R. Murthy Rajasthan  
12 IIT Patna IITP 2008 2008 501 Pushpak Bhattacharya Bihar
13 IIT Ropar IITRPR 2008 2008 545 Sarit Kumar Das Punjab
14 IIT Indore IITI 2009 2009 525 Pradeep Mathur Madhya Pradesh
15 IIT Mandi IITMandi 2009 2009 538 Timothy A. Gonsalves Himachal Pradesh
16 IIT (BHU) Varanasi IIT(BHU) 1919 2012 400 Rajeev Sangal Uttar Pradesh
17 IIT Palakkad IITPKD 2015 2015 500 Kerala
18 IIT Tirupati IITTP 2015 2015 590 K.N.Satyanarayana Andhra Pradesh
19 IIT (ISM) Dhanbad IIT ISM 1926 2016 458 D C Panigrahi Jharkhand
20 IIT Bhilai IITBh 2016 2016 Session began-staffs not recognized Chhattisgarh
21 IIT Goa IITGoa 2016 2016 Session began-staffs not recognized Goa
22 IIT Jammu   2016 2016 Session began-staffs not recognized Jammu and Kashmir
23 IIT Dharwad IITDH 2016 2016 Session began-staffs not counted Karnataka
23 Dharwad       Counted  

JEE Advanced 2017 Toppers List

Category wise and zone wise Toppers of JEE Advanced 2016 has been announced by the JAB. Out of total 36,556 candidates, who have qualified JEE Advanced 2016, Aman Bansal of Jaipur, Rajasthan bagged All India Rank (AIR) 1. Candidates can check the list of JEE Advanced 2016 Toppers (category wise) below-

*CRL – Common Rank List

Rank List Rank Name City/Town
CRL 1 Aman Bansal Jaipur
CRL 2 Bhavesh Dhingra Yamuna Nagar
CRL 3 Kunal Goyal Jaipur
CRL 1 (Girls) Riya Singh (AIR 133) Kota
OBC-NCL 1 Duggani Jeevithiesh Vijayawada
SC 1 Chinmay Awale Navi Mumbai
ST 1 Mude Chaithanya Naik Punganur
CRL-PwD 1 Kalluri Hari Prasad Guntur
OBC-NCL-PwD 1 Neelesh Verma Kanpur
SC-PwD 1 Samprit Shekhar Jambhulkarv Panchasheel Nagar
ST-PwD 1 Vineeth Krishna Lambadi Anantapur

Admission Tests

The Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced) is a common admission test for students seeking admission to undergraduate programmes of all IITs and ISM Dhanbad. To be eligible to write JEE (Advanced), the candidates have to first appear in the JEE (Main) conducted by JEE Apex Board, in the month of April. JEE(Advanced) is conducted by IITs in the month of June. Only the top 1,50,000 scorers in JEE (Main), which includes students from all categories (GE, OBC (NCL), SC, ST and PD) will be eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced). The JEE (Advanced) will have two objective type papers. Each paper will consist of Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. Duration of each paper will be 3-hours. Question papers will be in both English and Hindi.